Learning Concept Map
Learning Concept Map
For more concepts on learning, click on the above concept map.


Note: This site is moving to KnowledgeJump.com. Please reset your bookmark.

Self, Metacognition, Cognition, Knowledge Systems

While the Three Representational Modalities (TRiM) describe the components that show how we learn; the Self, Metacognition, Cognition, and Knowledge systems (SMCKs) describe the domains of knowledge. One of the first and best known knowledge domains is Bloom's Taxonomy. However, since the time of its creation in 1956, we have now gained considerable more knowledge about how we learn. (Marzano, 1998)

Self, Metacognition, Cognition, Knowledge Systems

How TRiM fits in with SMCKs

We receive information linguistically, nonlinguistically, and affectively through our senses. This information or presenting task then passes through four human thought processing systems:

Next Steps

Next chapter: Self-System

Last section: Introduction: The Three Representational Modes


Marzano, Robert J. (1998). A Theory-Based Meta-Analysis of Research on Instruction. Mid-continent Aurora, Colorado: Regional Educational Laboratory. Retrieved from http://eric.ed.gov/?id=ED427087